Navigating the Waves: A Mother’s Journey with PTSD

The brain with PTSD

Hello, fellow adventurers on this unpredictable journey called life! I’m a 37-year-old mom to three incredibly lively boys, and today I want to share a bit about my daily life with PTSD. It’s like surfing: sometimes you ride the waves smoothly, and other times you get wiped out unexpectedly.

The Ripple Effects in Relationships

Living with PTSD means my trust radar can be a bit… let’s say, overly cautious. Trusting others isn’t easy, not because I don’t want to, but because my past experiences often yell louder than the present reality. This can make relationships a tricky sea to navigate. For example, I find myself constantly checking my boyfriend’s phone. Not the best habit, I know. It’s tough when your fears are occasionally validated, though it doesn’t justify my actions.

Daily Challenges: The Small Triggers

Day-to-day life can feel like a minefield. Something as simple as spilling a drink can send my stress levels through the roof. Why? Well, when I was little, even tiny mistakes could lead to big repercussions. Nowadays, every small mishap feels like it has the potential to unleash a storm.

The Aftermath of an Episode

Being triggered is like being hit by a sneaker wave—you don’t see it coming, and it knocks you off your feet. After an episode, I’m often left feeling drained and more on edge than usual. It’s a rough cycle, because then I start to fear the next wave before it even arrives.

Finding the Silver Lining

Despite the challenges, I strive to do my best in every situation. I’ve learned that acknowledging my feelings is okay, and I’m working on finding healthier ways to cope. Yes, it’s a rollercoaster with ups and downs, but I’m learning that I am good enough, smart enough, and definitely tough enough to handle this ride.

Thank you for joining me on this surf. It’s not always smooth, but it’s real. And remember, it’s okay to fall off the board sometimes; the important part is getting back up and riding the next wave.

Discover more from Ohsorelatable 4 you

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started